New Functional Classification Codes

FHWA has new Functional Classification codes.  As described in the memo below, functional classification is now independent of urban/rural boundaries.  The codes are now simplified to 1 to 7 as described below.  The CRS maps on-line ( been updated in the legend to display the new codes.

FHWA Function Class Memo

About David Giongco

David is a registered civil engineer with the Caltrans Division of Local Assistance. Learn more about him here and connect with him on Twitter and at LinkedIn.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s